Unfortunately we couldn't get it done. Somehow a game that we dominated in almost every aspect (except the score) slipped through our fingers. 

We were a bit slow out of the blocks early and Ryde worked a corner, which they then converted, through The Marque Player drag flick.  Our composure was a bit off and pushed passes, missed traps and poor communication was applying pressure where it shouldn't have been.

However after a few hectic minutes, things changed and we began to dominate proceedings and ask some tough questions of Ryde. Scores were levelled by Tugga before Az Oman put us
in front. Ryde were floundering and the team was looking more and more like a one man band. 

The Marque Player equalised 2-2 and Uni continued to put chance after chance
wide. Tesh eventually put us back in front with just 7 minutes left on the clock. 

The Marque Player took the hit off. Unfortunately he ran into the circle, shot back stick and somehow scored. With scores back level, Ryde grew another leg and they tested our defences.

Somehow the first and only time a back of the stick infringement has been awarded all year, comes now and it was determined to be deliberate enough to award a corner despite being 10cm inside the 25. Up steps The Marque PlayerDrag flick. SAVED ON THE LINE. 
Crisis averted. 

Uni clear, scramble and control again before Ryde intercept a pass, and work another corner. Brown Panther drag flick........SAVED AGAIN unfortunately only for an opportunist hit to beat everyone on the line and Ryde snatch the
lead with less than 2 minutes on the clock. 

Damn, final score 3-4

Masters A team win 2016 Masters Premier League Grand Final

Our masters A team won the 2016 Grand Final with The title came in a 3-1 win over valiant Manly.

SUHC last won the title in 2005, with several stalwarts from then still playing in this team.

Register Now

Registration for Masters players will open soon. 

Compare the Pair

The 2011 Grand-Final-winning Vets C team should be compared to the original SUHC Vets team. The Club thanks these very long-term and evidently solid supporters, most of whom continue to play. 
Our first vets team in 2001 was: 


Players to look for here are Malcolm Newman, Bruce McCormick, Crichton Smith, Andrew Clarke, Tony Selmes, Bruce McKay and Martin Mills, who played in 2011 in vets C. Most were available for the Grand Final, and their less youthful faces appear again in the photo from that game. In addition, Mike Irby, Steve Garrett, Peter Pether and David Clarke are still playing, but not in Vets C. 

Our 2011 Vets C team, pictured after their Grand Final win, were: 


Back: Ken Kershaw, Malcolm Monteiro, Tony Selmes, Alberto Paludetto (injured), Bruce McKay, Paul Rattray, Malcolm Newman, Stuart Bragg 
Front: Wayne Beard, Bruce McCormick, Mark Thwaite, Crichton Smith, Peter Flynn, Ian Dallen, Rowan O'Brien 
Away for the game,  Andrew Clarke, Martin Mills, Paul Burns