SUHC Men Win Sydney Premier Indoor - WITH FULL VIDEO

On Sunday 14 December our Men's Premier Indoor team won the Sydney Indoor Hockey premier grade grand final. They beat the unbackable favourites Moorebank, who had won in 8 of the last 10 years. It was SUHC's first ever win.

Beating the team from Moorebank was a truly herculean effort. Everyone in the Moorebank team is or was a NSW indoor rep, and those NSW teams are themselves the current Australian Open and Under 21’s champions. That is not half of it: Moorebank even had three current Australian indoor players, and one former Australian player. But still that was not enough to beat SUHC, with an inspirational efforts from Troy in goals, as well as Hannes and PK. A star team again beat a team of stars.

There is a great video of the full game, thanks to Living Sport.

The champion SU team was Troy Rossiter (GK), Darren Pike, Hannes Rieger (in his last game for SUHC: he has been a Supermann for years) Chris Moylan (not retiring: quite forward, really), Peter Kelly, Brendan Purser, Haydn Evens, Brent Russ, Graham Brennan (played 2 games) Chris Pelow (played 1 game) and Tom Lobsey (missed the entire season due to a broken thumb, but spiritually there).

Thanks must go to the supporters as well. They came along and cheered the boys home to what earlier seemed like an impossible victory. 

As Churchill said: "Never before in the field of indoor hockey have so many stars been so outplayed - and by SU".